RIC 003: The Stages of Change

​Brief Overview of the Episode

​​In this episode I discuss the Stages of Change as developed by James Prochaska and Carlo DiClemente. While not everyone passes through all of the stages, it still provides at least something of a road map to guide us through the recovery process. Briefly, they are:

  1. Precontemplation
  2. Contemplation
  3. Preparation
  4. Action
  5. Maintenance
  6. Termination

To these, I usually add Relapse because although it's not really a "stage" per se, it's certainly common enough to include a discussion of the possibility along with the other stages.

I also refer to a diagram in the free eBook "Thinking Recovery," to discuss choices, and the best (in fact the only) time to make them. This is your life, and it's up to you what you want to do with it.

​Timeline of the Episode




  • ​Overview of episode
  • ​The Stages of Change


  • ​​Choices, and when we can make them


  • ​​Closing
  • ​Next week: Planning for Recovery

​Links Mentioned in the Episode



​The leading science-based self-help recovery group in the world, with thousands of face-to-face and online meetings available.

Next Episode

Next week is ​"Planning for Change." A new planning method suggested by the book "Smart Change" by Art Markman, PhD.

​I wrote ​Thinking Recovery​ to serve as a companion to this podcast. It contains an overview of the principal cognitive recovery techniques that I explore, and some visual aids to help with understanding.

You can download it for free, simply by clicking on the image to the left. I hope you enjoy it!​​​

About the Author Pete Soderman

Pete is an author, blogger, and podcaster who makes his home in Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico. His primary interest is in helping others recover from self-defeating behaviors.

Leave a Comment: